Account and profile settings

This article covers everything you need to know about your account and verification. We'll review how to change your account details, account closure, and verification. 

My account details

Let's review:

How to change your location

Your location is set when you register your account and is determined according to the country from where you register.

The same applies to the phone verification process. If you verify your phone from a different location, the location may change after completing the verification process. 

If the location on your account appears to be incorrect, please contact Customer Support.

How to change your username

Note: Sellers have the option to change their display name.
Learn more with How to change your display name.

Since a username is your unique identity on Fiverr, it cannot be changed. If you would like to use another username, you will need to close your account and create a new one.
 
If you would like to use the email address associated with your current account for your new account, please change this email address to a different one prior to closing the account. Once you have successfully changed the email address in your existing account first, you can then go ahead and close the account.
Learn more with How do I change my email or username?

How to change your email address

You can change your email address via email, phone verification, or SMS.

Learn more about the different ways to change your email address with How do I change my email or username?

Online status

The small circle by your username will indicate whether you're online (green circle) or offline (gray circle).
By default, your status will be set to "Online".

To change your status to "Offline":

  1. Log in > click your profile picture > Settings > Account.
  2. Under "ONLINE STATUS", you can select the amount of time you'll be "Offline" (1 hour, 1 day, 1 week, or Forever).
  3. Click Save Changes.
  4. To go back online, select "GO ONLINE" from the same drop-down menu.

    How_to_change_your_online_status.png Return_to_Online_status.png
 

Closing your account

Before you go, please be aware that by deactivating your account, you may lose all the information related to your cumulative activity on Fiverr. 
If you would like to use your existing email address for your new account, you must change the email address on your existing account first, and then close the account. 
 

Please note:
If you have funds in your account (as a result of Completed Orders) please make sure to withdraw them prior to changing your email address.
If the funds in your account are from Canceled Orders you placed as a buyer, you may request a refund.

Verifying my account

How to change your phone number

You don't need to have access to the old phone registered on your account, you only need to know the number. The code is sent to the new number being registered.

If you don’t remember your old phone number or your security question, please contact Customer Support.

To change your phone number:

  1. Log in > click your Profile Picture > My Settings > Phone Verification > Edit.
  2. Answer your security question > Provide your old phone number > Enter your new number.
  3. You'll then receive an SMS to the new phone number to verify your account. Add the
    phone code to finalize the change.

Verifying your identity

At Fiverr, we do our best to keep our community safe for everyone, which is why we routinely ask sellers to verify their identity with an official government ID—we will only ask this once.

To verify your identity:

  1. You will need to add a photo of an official government ID (driver’s license, passport, etc.) from a list of documents available to you—depending on your country of residence.
  2. After uploading your ID, you’ll be asked to take a selfie.
    Your selfie and ID must match and belong to you in order to complete the process.

Was this article helpful?